National Awards

Personality of the Year

A Personality of the Year has been awarded by Squash New Zealand since 1974. The award recognises contribution to squash in New Zealand either as a player, administrator or supporter of squash.

Judging Criteria

The Award is chosen annually by the Squash New Zealand Board and awarded at / around the Annual General Meeting. 

When deciding the Board look for outstanding individual qualities such as leadership, inspiration, dedication and passion and / or personal characteristics that might set them apart from others, either by their deeds or achievements. It can include philanthropic endeavours and other contributions (e.g. a benefactor).

2016 Winner

Personality of the Year: Paul Coll - Squashways Canterbury

2016 has been another stellar year for Paul Coll. The 24-year old has continued his development on the international stage where he remains in the top 35 world rankings. As well as claiming two gold medals at the WSF World Doubles Teams event, Paul's 'out-of-this-world' rally against James Willstrop also went viral earlier this year, where he executed back-to-back full length superman dives to keep the ball in play and win the point after almost doing the splits while stretching for another ball.

Personality 2016 Paul Coll

Previous Winners

Year Personality of the Year
2016 Paul Coll, Squashways Canterbury
2015 Paul Coll, Squashways Canterbury
2014 Joelle King, Cambridge
2013 Joelle King, Cambridge
2012 Butch Gifford, Morrinsville and Waikato
2011 Don Cotter, Auckland
2010 Joelle King, Cambridge
2009 Shelley Kitchen, Herne Bay
2008 Susie Simcock, Remuera
2007 Aileen Buscke, Remuera
2006 Shelley Kitchen, Browns Bay
2005 Rob Walker, Club Kelburn
2004 Tamsyn Leevey, Wainuiomata
2003 Carol Owens, Eden-Epsom
2002 Susie Simcock, Remuera
2001 Paul Steel, Whakatane
2000 Leilani Joyce (nee Marsh), North Shore
1999 Trevor Johnston, Ashburton
1998 Chas Evans, Upper Hutt
1997 Leilani Joyce (nee Marsh), North Shore
1996 Susie Simcock, Remuera
1995 Jade Wilson, Palmerston North
1994 Paul Steel, Whakatane
1993 Paul Steel, Whakatane
1992 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1991 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1990 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1989 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1988 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1987 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1986 Ross Norman, Panmure
1985 Susan Devoy, Henderson
1984 Susan Devoy, Hamilton
1983 Susan Devoy, Hamilton
1982 Robyn Blackwood, North Shore
1981 Stuart Davenport, Havelock North
1980 Ross Norman, Panmure
1979 Murray Day, Hamilton
1978 Neven Barbour, Henderson
1977 Bruce Brownlee, Geyser City
1976 Bruce Brownlee, Geyser City
1975 Pam Buckingham, Panmure
1974 Trevor Johnston

<< Back

November 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

= Multiple Events = Single Event

Add an Event


Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors