Latest News

Waikato and Northland Claim 3 Titles in Champion of Champions

Bay of Plenty Champion of Champions Team

After 3 full days of squash at the Putaruru Squash Club Waikato and Northland have taken three Champion of Champions titles home whilst Eastern and the Bay of Plenty have claimed 2 titles each

In the A grade ladies Emma Millar and Aliesha Watene played off to claim the top title with Millar training to depart for the World Women's Teams event later this month she was keen to show her dominance, however Watene was not going to make it easy. Millar claimed the title in 4 hard sets where Watene played some great shots to claim the third game.

In the B grade draws, after some tough battles early on Angus MacDonald of the Waikato was able to take a strong win over Centrals Matthew Ratcliffe claiming the title in 3. In the Women's draw last years winner Winona-Jo Joyce was set to make it 2 in a row, but the Bays Karen Roberts wasn't going to go down without a fight. Both players battled hard but Joyce was able to get her name on this trophy for the second year in a row.

In the C Grade draws, Chanel Wotten from the Bay of Plenty proved to be too strong for her opponent and took out Sarina Budge of Central in 3. In the Men's draw it was a tough battle between Northland's Keri Rhodes and Wellington's James Gould, with games going back and forth it was Rhodes who was able to clinch the win in an exciting five setter!

In the D Grade draws, the men's draw saw Dion Morgan of the Waikato take a win over local Putaruru player Brad Karl in 4 with some tense moments right up to the last point. In the Women's draw it was a battle of the opposite ends of the country with Northland's Ocean Shadbolt taking on Southlands Rachael Wilson. It was another match which went back and forth between the players and with both players throwing everything on the line in the fifth it was Shadbolt that managed to clinch the title in this enthralling five setter.

The E Grade draws saw Northland's Casper Tyson, claim the win from Sam Fletcher of Central in 4 after coming back from losing the first game. The Women's draw had Whitney Nohokau of Eastern claim the win over Centrals Amoa Crossan with a hard fought 4 setter.

The F/J Grade draws had as much excitement as the top draws with Waikato's Pat Jirapanyayut proving to be too strong for the Bay of Plentys Robert Perkinson with Jirapanyayut claiming his title in 3. Nicky Schrafft managed to claim the win for the Central district with a win over Northlands Emma Tyson in 4.

Thanks to Putaruru squahs club for a great weekend and great hospitality.

Full results from the weekend can be found here and below


Northland Title Winners - Left to Right Ocean Shadbolt, Casper Tyson and Keri Rhodes

Northland Winners Resized


A Grade Women
Emma Millar (Devoy Squash & Fitness) bt Aliesha Watene (Tokoroa) - 11-8 11-9 9-11 11-7


B Grade Men
Angus Macdonald (Te Rapa) bt Matthew Ratcliffe (SquashGym) - 15-13 11-6 11-3


B Grade Women
Winona-Jo Joyce (Hastings) bt Karen Roberts (Mount Maunganui) - 10-12 11-7 11-3 11-6


C Grade Men
Keri Rhodes (Manaia) bt James Gould (Kapiti) - 12-15 15-5 15-13 13-15 15-6


C Grade Women
Chanel Wotten (Te Puke) bt Sarina Budge (Ohakune) 15-9 15-13 15-12


D Grade Men
Dion Morgan (Lugton Park) bt Brad Karl (Putaruru) - 15-13 15-9 3-15 15-13


D Grade Women
Ocean Shadbolt (Maungatoroto) bt Rachael Wilson (Clinton) - 14-16 15-6 15-8 8-15 15-13


E Grade Men
Casper Tyson (Manaia) bt Sam Fletcher (SquashGym) - 7-15 15-13 15-7 15-8


E Grade Women
Whitney Nohokau (Hastings) bt Amoa Crossan (Ohakune) - 15-10 15-8 8-15 15-9


F/J Grade Men
Pat Jirapanyayut (Lugton Park) bt Robert Perkinson (Edgecumbe) - 15-11 15-11 15-12


F/J Grade Women
Nicky Schrafft (Ohakune) bt Emma Tyson (Manaia) - 15-12 9-15 15-6 15-12

<< Back


June 2018

        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30

= Multiple Events = Single Event

Add an Event

TPL Campaign

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors